Zimbabwe Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Zimbabwe Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Zimbabwe, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Zimbabwe at its Zimbabwe Country Page.

  • Zimbabwe People
  • Zimbabwe Geography
  • Zimbabwe Economy
  • Zimbabwe History

    Type: Parliamentary.
    Constitution: December 21, 1979.
    Independence: April 18, 1980.
    Branches: Executive--president (chief of state and head of government), Cabinet. Legislative--In the 150-seat House of Assembly, 120 seats are popularly elected and 30 are directly appointed by the president or selected through a process strongly influenced by him. Judicial--High court, Court of Appeal, local and customary courts.
    Administrative subdivisions: Town Councils and District Councils.
    Main political parties: Movement for Democratic Change (MDC), Zimbabwe African National Union--Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF); National Alliance for Good Governance (NAGG), Zimbabwe African People's Union (ZAPU), Zimbabwe African National Union--Ndonga (ZANU-Ndonga)

    Government of Zimbabwe
    According to Zimbabwe's Constitution, the president is head of state and ahead of government elected for a 6-year term by popular majority vote. Parliament consists of the House of Assembly and has up to a 5-year life span. The House of Assembly has 120 members elected by the common-roll electorate, eight governors, 10 chiefs, 12 presidential appointees, the Speaker, and the Attorney General.

    The Zimbabwean Constitution institutionalizes majority rule and protection of minority rights. The elected government controls senior appointments in the public service, including the military and police, and insures that appointments at lower levels are made on an equitable basis by the independent Public Service Commission.

    The judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court who like the other justices is appointed by the President on the advice of the Judicial Service Commission. The Constitution has a bill of rights containing extensive protection of human rights. The bill of rights could not be amended for the first 10 years of independence except by unanimous vote of the House of Assembly.

    Zimbabwe is divided into eight provinces, each administered by a provincial governor appointed by the president. The provincial governor is assisted by the provincial administrator and representatives of several service ministries. Zimbabwe is governed by President Robert Mugabe and his Zimbabwean African National Union--Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF), which has dominated the legislative and executive branches since independence in 1980.

    source: http://www.state.gov

  • Zimbabwe People
  • Zimbabwe Geography
  • Zimbabwe Economy
  • Zimbabwe History