Uganda Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Uganda Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Uganda, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Uganda at its Uganda Country Page.

  • Uganda People
  • Uganda Geography
  • Uganda Economy
  • Uganda History

    Type: "Movement" system, with limited operation of political parties Constitution: The current Constitution was ratified on July 12, 1995, and promulgated on October 8, 1995. The constitution provides for an executive president, to be elected every 5 years. Parliament and the judiciary have significant amounts of independence and wield significant power.
    President Yoweri Museveni, in power since 1986, was elected under the new constitution in 1996 and re-elected in 2001. The Constitution limits the president to two terms. However, an effort is underway to revise the constitution and eliminate the term limit.
    Independence: October 9, 1962.
    Branches: Executive--president, vice president, prime minister, cabinet. Legislative--parliament. There are 214 directly elected representatives and special indirectly elected seats for representatives of women 56, youth 5, workers 5, disabled 5, and the army 10. The president may also appoint up to 10 exofficio members. Judicial--Magistrate's Court, High Court, Court of Appeals, Supreme Court.
    Administrative subdivisions: 56 districts.
    Political parties (note: political party activity is highly restricted): Uganda People's Congress (UPC), Democratic Party (DP), Conservative Party (CP). There also are political alliances, such as the Reform Agenda (RA) group that fielded Museveni's major opposition candidate in the 2001 election.
    Suffrage: Universal adult.
    National holiday: Independence Day, October 9.
    Flag: Six horizontal stripes-black, yellow, red, black, yellow, red with the national emblem, the crested crane, in a centered white circle.

    Government of Uganda
    Yoweri Museveni is the President and the Commander in Chief, Dr. Gilbert Bukenya is the Vice President, and Apollo Nsibambi is the Prime Minister. The Minister of Foreign Affairs is James Wapakabulo and the Minister for Defense is Amama Mbabazi.

    Legislative responsibility is vested in the 305-person Parliament, whose members were elected in June 2001. The Ugandan judiciary operates as an independent branch of government and consists of magistrate's courts, high courts, courts of appeals, and the Supreme Court.


  • Uganda People
  • Uganda Geography
  • Uganda Economy
  • Uganda History