Swaziland Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Swaziland Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Swaziland, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Swaziland at its Swaziland Country Page.

  • Swaziland People
  • Swaziland Geography
  • Swaziland Economy
  • Swaziland History

    Type: Monarchy.
    Independence: September 6, 1968.
    Constitution: No constitution in effect. In 2001 His Majesty King Mswati III appointed a committee to draft a new constitution. The draft was released for comment in May 2003. It is currently undergoing review before coming to a vote for ratification. The means by which the vote of ratification will take place has not yet been determined.
    Branches: Executive--monarch (head of state), prime minister (head of government), cabinet (appointed by the king at the recommendation of the prime minister). Legislative--Parliament consisting of the House of Assembly (65 members: 55 elected, 10 appointed by the king) and senate (30 members: 10 elected from the House of Assembly, 20 appointed by the king) Judicial--a dual court system of traditional courts under chiefs and a Roman-Dutch system comprising magistrates courts, high court, court of appeals.
    Administrative subdivisions: 4 regions, 9 municipal governments, and 55 tinkhundla centers (traditional administrative units).
    Political parties: None permitted by law.
    Suffrage: Universal after 18.

    Government of Swaziland
    According to Swazi law and custom, the monarch holds supreme executive, legislative, and judicial powers. In general practice, however, the monarch's power is delegated through a dualistic system: modern, statutory bodies, like the cabinet, and less formal traditional government structures. At present, parliament consists of a 65-seat House of Assembly (55 members are elected through popular vote; 10 are appointed by the king) and 30-seat Senate (10 members are appointed by the House of Assembly, and 20 are appointed by the king). The king must approve legislation passed by parliament before it becomes law. The prime minister, who is head of government, and the cabinet, which is recommended by the prime minister and approved by the king, exercises executive authority.

    For local administration Swaziland is divided into four regions, each with an administrator appointed by the king. Parallel to the government structure is the traditional system consisting of the king and his advisers, traditional courts, and 55 Tinkhundla (subregional districts in which traditional chiefs are grouped).

    Swaziland is a member of the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) which the U.S. began negotiating a Free Trade Agreement with in May 2003. The other members of SACU are Botswana, Namibia, Lesotho and South Africa.

    source: http://www.state.gov

  • Swaziland People
  • Swaziland Geography
  • Swaziland Economy
  • Swaziland History