Sudan Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Sudan Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Sudan, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Sudan at its Sudan Country Page.

  • Sudan People
  • Sudan Geography
  • Sudan Economy
  • Sudan History

    Type: Military dictatorship with pro-government parliament.
    Independence: January 1, 1956.
    Constitution: 1998 (passed by presidential decree but suspended in December 1999 when National Security Emergency law was promulgated by presidential decree.)
    Branches: Executive--Executive authority held by the president who also is the prime minister, head of state, head of government and commander in chief of the armed forces.Judicial--High court, Minister of Justice, Attorney General, civil and special tribunals (where Islamic principals inspire the constitution as well as civil and criminal law and jurisprudence), constitutional court, tribal courts and investigative commissions. Parliament: National Assembly. Elections in December 2000 were seriously flawed as the major parties boycotted the election; the majority of ruling party candidates ran unopposed; and most remaining MPs, especially from the south, were appointed by the President.
    Administrative subdivisions: Twenty-six states, each with a governor appointed by the president, along with a local cabinet and regional ministers (so-called Federal Rule system).
    Political parties: All political parties were banned following the June 30, 1989 military coup. Political associations, which take the place of parties, were authorized in 2000. Some parties are in self-imposed exile.
    Central government budget (2001 est.) $2.9 billion. Defense (2000 est.) 35% of GNP.

    Government of Sudan
    From 1983 to 1997, the Sudan was divided into five regions in the north and three in the south, each headed by a military governor. After the 1985 coup, regional assemblies were suspended. The RCC was abolished in 1996, and the ruling National Islamic Front changed its name to the National Congress Party. After 1997, the structure of regional administration was replaced by the creation of 26 states. The executives, cabinets, and senior-level state officials are appointed by the president and their limited budgets are determined by and dispensed from Khartoum. The states, as a result, remain economically dependent upon the central government. Khartoum state, comprising the capital and outlying districts, is administered by a governor.

    In December 1999, a power struggle climaxed between president al-Bashir and NIF founder, Islamist ideologue, and then speaker of parliament Hassan al-Turabi. Al-Turabi was stripped of his posts in the ruling party and the government, parliament was disbanded, the constitution was suspended, and a state of national emergency was declared by presidential decree. Parliament resumed in February 2001 after the December 2000 presidential and parliamentary elections, but the national emergency laws remain in effect. Al-Turabi was arrested in February 2001, and charged with being a threat to national security and the constitutional order for signing a memorandum of understanding with the SPLA. He was placed in a maximum-security prison and remains in custody.


  • Sudan People
  • Sudan Geography
  • Sudan Economy
  • Sudan History