Somalia Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Somalia Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Somalia, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Somalia at its Somalia Country Page.

  • Somalia People
  • Somalia Geography
  • Somalia Economy
  • Somalia History

    Type: None.
    Independence: July 1, 1960 (from a merger of the former Somaliland Protectorate under British rule, which became independent from the UK on June 26, 1960, and Italian Somaliland, which became independent from the Italian-administered UN trusteeship on July 1, 1960 to form the Somali Republic).
    Constitution: None in force. Note: The Transitional National Government created in August 2000 was formed to create a new constitution and hold elections within 3 years.
    Branches: Executive--Somalia has had no functioning national government since the United Somali Congress (USC) ousted the regime of Maj. Gen. Mohamed Siad "Barre" in January 1991. In October 2001, the Transitional National Government, with a president serving a 3-year term and a 245-member National Assembly, was established in Mogadishu; it controls only a limited portion of the national territory. The present political situation in much of Somalia is one of anarchy, marked by inter-clan fighting and random banditry, with some areas of peace and stability. Legislative--parliamentary (Transitional National Government)Judicial--Supreme Court: not functioning; no nationwide system; Islamic (shari’a) and secular courts in some localities.
    Political party: None functioning. Legal system: none functioning. Note: In 1991 a congress drawn from the inhabitants of the former Somaliland Protectorate declared withdrawal from the 1960 union with Somalia to form the Republic of Somaliland. This declaration has not been recognized internationally, but Somaliland has maintained a de facto separate status since that time. Its form of government is republican, with a bicameral legislature including an elected elders chamber and a house of representatives. The judiciary is independent, and various political parties exist. President Mohamed Ibrahim Egal was elected to a second 5-year term in February 1997 but has sought to extend his term for one year.
    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal (no nationwide elections)
    Administrative subdivisions: 18 regions (plural--NA; singular--Gobolka). Awdal, Bakool, Banaadir, Bari, Bay, Galguduud, Gedo, Hiraan, Jubbada Dhexe, Jubbada Hoose, Mudug, Nugaal, Sanaag, Shabeellaha Dhexe, Shabeellah Hoose, Sool, Togdheer, Woqooyi Galbeed.
    Central government budget: N/A.
    Defense: N/A.
    National holiday: July 1 (June 26 in Somaliland).

    Government of Somalia
    Somalia has no national government at present. For administrative purposes, Somalia is divided into 18 regions; the nature, authority, and structure of regional governments vary, where they exist.


  • Somalia People
  • Somalia Geography
  • Somalia Economy
  • Somalia History