Slovakia Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Slovakia Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Slovakia, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Slovakia at its Slovakia Country Page.

  • Slovakia People
  • Slovakia Geography
  • Slovakia Economy
  • Slovakia History

    Type: Parliamentary republic.
    Independence: The Slovak Republic was established January l, 1993 (former Czechoslovak Republic established 1918).
    Constitution: Signed September 3, 1992.
    Branches: Executive--president (head of state), prime minister (head of government), cabinet. Legislative--National Council of the Slovak Republic (150 seats). Judicial--Supreme Court, Constitutional Court.
    Political parties: 150 parliamentary seats: Slovak Democratic and Christian Union (SDKU) 28 seats; Movement for a Democratic Slovakia (HZDS) 25 seats; SMER (Direction) 25 seats; Hungarian Coalition Party (SMK) 20 seats; Christian-Democratic Movement (KDH) 15 seats; Alliance of New Citizens (ANO) 12 seats; Communist Party of Slovakia (KSS) 11 seats; People's Union (LU) 11 seats; three independent deputies.
    Suffrage: Universal at 18 years.
    Administrative divisions: Eight administrative regions, 79 districts.

    Government of Slovakia
    Slovakia's highest legislative body is the 150-seat unicameral National Council of the Slovak Republic. Delegates are elected for 4-year terms on the basis of proportional representation. The Slovak political scene supports a wide spectrum of political parties, including several social democratic parties and the nationalistic Slovak National Party (SNS) that is not represented in parliament, but the influence of leftist and nationalist parties has declined in the past several years.

    In January 1999, Parliament passed a constitutional amendment allowing for direct election of the president. Kosice Mayor Rudolf Schuster was elected president in a May 1999 run-off with former Prime Minister Meciar and took office on June 15, 1999. Virtually all executive powers of government belong to the prime minister, but the president does serve as commander in chief of the armed forces, can grant pardons, and has the right to return legislation to Parliament. Parliament, however, can override this veto with a simple majority of all 150 members of Parliament.

    The country's highest appellate forum is the Supreme Court; below that are regional, district, and military courts. In certain cases the law provides for decisions of tribunals of judges to be attended by lay judges from the citizenry. Slovakia also has a special Constitutional Court, which rules on constitutional issues. The 13 members of this court are appointed by the president from a slate of candidates nominated by Parliament.

    In 2002 Parliament passed legislation which created a Judicial Council. This 18-member council, composed of judges, law professors, and other legal experts, is now responsible for the nomination of judges. All judges except those of the Constitutional Court are appointed by the president from a list proposed by the Judicial Council. The Council also is responsible for appointing Disciplinary Senates in cases of judicial misconduct.


  • Slovakia People
  • Slovakia Geography
  • Slovakia Economy
  • Slovakia History