Rwanda Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Rwanda Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Rwanda, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Rwanda at its Rwanda Country Page.

  • Rwanda People
  • Rwanda Geography
  • Rwanda Economy
  • Rwanda History

    Type: Republic.
    Independence: July 1, 1962.
    Constitution: -May 26, 2003.
    Branches: Executive--president (chief of state), prime minister (head of government). Broad-based government of national unity formed after the 1994 civil war. Elections in 2003 elected a president, 80-seat Chamber of Deputies and 26-member Senate. Legislative--Chamber of Deputies; Senate. Judicial--Supreme Court, Constitutional Court, Council of State, Court of Appeals.
    Administrative subdivisions: 12 provinces; 106 districts; 1,545 sectors; 9.165 cells.
    Political parties: Eight parties comprise the government: the Rwandan Patriotic Front (RPF) leads a coalition that includes the Centrist Democratic Party (PDC), the Rwandan Labor [formerly Socialist] Party (PSR), the Ideal [formerly Islamic] Democratic Party (PDI), and the Democratic Popular Union (UPDR). Other parties in the government include the Social Democratic Party (PSD), the Liberal Party (PL), and the Concord Progressive Party (PPC).
    Suffrage: Universal for citizens over 18--except refugees, prisoners, and certain categories of convicts.
    Central government budget (2000 est.): 31.7 billions of Rwandan francs ($29 million) Revenues--$28 million . Expenditures--$29 million.

    Government of Rwanda
    After its military victory in July 1994, the RPF organized a coalition government similar to that established by President Habyarimana in 1992. Called “The Broad Based Government of National Unity,” its fundamental law is based on a combination of the June 1991 constitution, the Arusha accords, and political declarations by the parties. The MRND Party was outlawed. In April 2003, the transitional National Assembly recommended the dissolution of the Democratic Republican Party (MDR), one of eight political parties participating in the Government of National Unity since 1994. Human rights groups noted the subsequent disappearances of political figures associated with the MDR, including at least one parliamentarian serving in the National Assembly. On May 26, 2003, Rwanda adopted a new Constitution which eliminated reference to ethnicity and set the stage for presidential and legislative elections in August and September 2003. The seven remaining political parties endorsed incumbent Paul Kagame for president, who was elected to a 7-year term on August 25, 2003. Rwanda held its first-ever legislative elections September 29 to October 2, 2003. The success or failure of the Rwandan social compact will be decided over the next few years, as Hutu and Tutsi try to find ways to live together again.

    Challenges facing the government include promoting further democratization and judicial reform; prosecuting more than 80,000 individuals detained for crimes relating to the 1994 genocide; preventing the recurrence of any insurgency among ex-military and Interahamwe militia who remain in eastern Congo; and the shift away from crisis to medium- and long-term development planning.


  • Rwanda People
  • Rwanda Geography
  • Rwanda Economy
  • Rwanda History