Peru Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Peru Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Peru, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Peru at its Peru Country Page.

  • Peru People
  • Peru Geography
  • Peru Economy
  • Peru History

    Type: Constitutional republic.
    Independence: 1821.
    Constitution: December 1993.
    Branches: Executive--president, two vice presidents, Council of Ministers. Legislative--unicameral Congress. Judicial--Supreme Court and lower courts, Tribunal of Constitutional Guarantees.
    Administrative subdivisions: 25 regions subdivided into provinces and districts.
    Political parties and movements: Peru Possible, National Unity, We Are Peru, Change 90/New Majority/Let's Go Neighbor/People's Solution, Union For Peru (UPF), American Popular Revolutionary Alliance (APRA), Independent Moralizing Front (FIM), Popular Christian Party (PPC), Popular Action (AP).
    Suffrage: Universal over 18; compulsory until age 70 (members of the military may not vote).

    Government of Peru
    The president is popularly elected for a 5-year term, and the 1993 Constitution permits one consecutive re-election. The first and second vice presidents also are popularly elected but have no constitutional functions unless the president is unable to discharge his duties. The principal executive body is the Council of Ministers, headed by a prime minister, all appointed by the president. All presidential decree laws or draft bills sent to Congress must be approved by the Council of Ministers.

    The legislative branch consists of a unicameral Congress of 120 members. In addition to passing laws, Congress ratifies treaties, authorizes government loans, and approves the government budget. The president has the power to block legislation with which the executive branch does not agree.

    The judicial branch of government is headed by a 16-member Supreme Court seated in Lima. The Constitutional Tribunal interprets the constitution on matters of individual rights. Superior courts in departmental capitals review appeals from decisions by lower courts. Courts of first instance are located in provincial capitals and are divided into civil, penal, and special chambers. The judiciary has created several temporary specialized courts, in an attempt to reduce the large backlog of cases pending final court action. In 1996 a Human Rights Ombudsman's office was created to address human rights issues. Peru is divided into 25 regions. The regions are subdivided into provinces, which are composed of districts. High authorities in the regional and local levels are elected.


  • Peru People
  • Peru Geography
  • Peru Economy
  • Peru History