Norway Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Norway Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Norway, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Norway at its Norway Country Page.

  • Norway People
  • Norway Geography
  • Norway Economy
  • Norway History

    Type: Hereditary constitutional monarchy.
    Independence: 1905.
    Constitution: May 17, 1814.
    Branches: Executive--king (chief of state), prime minister (head of government), Council of Ministers (cabinet). Legislative--modified unicameral parliament (Storting). Judicial--Supreme Court, appellate courts, city and county courts.
    Political parties: Labor, Conservative, Center, Christian Democratic, Liberal, Socialist Left, Progress.
    Suffrage: Universal over 18.
    Administrative subdivisions: 19 fylker (counties), and Svalbard.
    National holiday: May 17.

    Government of Norway
    The functions of the King are mainly ceremonial, but he has influence as the symbol of national unity. Although the 1814 constitution grants important executive powers to the king, these are almost always exercised by the Council of Ministers in the name of the King (King's Council). The Council of Ministers consists of a prime minister--chosen by the political parties represented in the Storting--and other ministers.

    The 165 members of the Storting are elected from 19 fylker (counties) for 4-year terms according to a complicated system of proportional representation. After elections, the Storting divides into two chambers, the Odelsting and the Lagting, which meet separately or jointly depending on the legislative issue under consideration.

    The special High Court of the Realm hears impeachment cases; the regular courts include the Supreme Court (17 permanent judges and a president), courts of appeal, city and county courts, the labor court, and conciliation councils. Judges attached to regular courts are appointed by the King in council after nomination by the Ministry of Justice.

    Each fylke is headed by a governor appointed by the King in council, with one governor exercising authority in both Oslo and the adjacent county of Akershus.


  • Norway People
  • Norway Geography
  • Norway Economy
  • Norway History