Niger Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Niger Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Niger, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Niger at its Niger Country Page.

  • Niger People
  • Niger Geography
  • Niger Economy
  • Niger History

    Type: Republic.
    Independence: August 3, 1960.
    Constitution: The constitution of January 1993 was revised by national referendum on May 12, 1996 and again by referendum on July 18, 1999.
    Branches: Executive--president and prime minister. Legislative--unicameral national assembly (83 MPs). Judicial--Court of Appeals, Supreme Court, High Court of Justice, and Court of State Security.
    Political parties: Five are represented in the National Assembly.
    Suffrage: The 1992 constitution provides for universal suffrage for Nigeriens age 18 or older.
    Administrative subdivisions: Eight departments subdivided into 36 districts (arrondissements).
    Central government budget: $320 million.
    Flag: Three horizontal bands--orange, white, and green from top to bottom with orange orb representing the sun centered on white band.

    Government of Niger
    Niger's new constitution was approved in July 1999. It restores the semi-presidential system of government of the December 1992 constitution (Third Republic) in which the president of the Republic, elected by universal suffrage for a 5-year term, and a prime minister named by the president share executive power. The unicameral legislature is comprised of 83 deputies elected for a 5-year term under a proportional system of representation. Political parties must attain at least 5% of the vote in order to gain a seat in the legislature.

    Niger's independent judicial system is composed of four higher courts--the Court of Appeals, the Supreme Court, the High Court of Justice and the Court of State Security.

    The constitution also provides for the popular election of municipal and local officials, which are expected to take place after all political interests agree upon a governmental decentralization plan. The country is currently divided into 8 departments, which are subdivided into 36 districts (arrondissements). The chief administrator (prefet) in each department is appointed by the government and functions primarily as the local agent of the central authorities.

    The current legislature elected in October 1999 contains five political parties. President Mamadou Tandja was elected in November 1999 and appointed Hama Amadou as the Prime Minister. Mahamane Ousmane, the head of the CDS, was elected President of the National Assembly (Parliament) by his peers. The first government of the Fifth Republic was installed on January 5, 2000, and a government reshuffle occurred on September 18, 2001. Serious unrest within the military occurred in August 2002, in Niamey, Diffa, and Nguigmi, but the government was able to restore order within several days. First-ever municipal elections are scheduled to take place late in 2003.


  • Niger People
  • Niger Geography
  • Niger Economy
  • Niger History