Netherlands Antilles Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Netherlands Antilles Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Netherlands Antilles, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Netherlands Antilles at its Netherlands Antilles Country Page.

  • Netherlands Antilles People
  • Netherlands Antilles Geography
  • Netherlands Antilles Economy
  • Netherlands Antilles History

    Type: Parliamentary.
    Independence: Part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.
    Constitution: December 1954, Statute of the Realm of the Netherlands, as amended.
    Branches: Executive--Monarch represented by a governor (chief of state), prime minister (head of government), Cabinet. Legislative--unicameral parliament. Judicial--Joint High Court of Justice appointed by the monarch.
    Subdivisions: By Island: Saba, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Curacao.
    Political parties: Antillean Restructuring Party (PAR), C 93, Democratic Party of Bonaire (PDB), Democratic Party of Curacao (DP), Democratic Party of Sint Eustatius (DP-St. E), Democratic Party of Sint Maarten (DP-St. M), Labor Party People's Crusade (PLKP), National People's Party (PNP), New Antilles Movement (MAN), Patriotic Union of Bonaire (UPB), National Progressive Party (NPP), Saba United Democratic Party, Saba Labor Party, St. Eustatius Alliance (SEA), Windward Islands People's Movement (WIPM [Will JOHNSTON]), Workers' Liberation Front (FOL), Democratic Party Statia, St. Eustatius Action Movement, Progressive Labor Party Statia, ORDU, People's Progressive Alliance (PPA), and others.
    Suffrage: Universal at 18.
    Flag: White, with a horizontal blue stripe in the center superimposed on a vertical red band, also centered; five white, five-pointed stars are arranged in an oval pattern in the center of the blue band; the five stars represent the five main islands of Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Sint Eustatius, and Sint Maarten.

    Government of Netherlands Antilles
    The Netherlands Antilles is one-half of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, which also includes Aruba, which separated from the Antilles January 1, 1986. The Netherlands Antilles enjoys self-determination on all internal matters and defers to the Netherlands in matters of defense, foreign policy, and some judicial functions.

    The Antilles is governed by a popularly elected unicameral "Staten" (Parliament) of 22 members. It chooses a prime minister (called Minister President) and a Council of Ministers consisting of six to eight other ministers. A governor, who serves a 6-year term, represents the Monarch of the Netherlands. Local government is assigned authority independently on each island. Under the direction of a Kingdom-appointed Island Governor, these local governments have a "Bestuurscollege" (administrative body) made up of commissioners who head the separate government departments.


  • Netherlands Antilles People
  • Netherlands Antilles Geography
  • Netherlands Antilles Economy
  • Netherlands Antilles History