Namibia Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Namibia Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Namibia, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Namibia at its Namibia Country Page.

  • Namibia People
  • Namibia Geography
  • Namibia Economy
  • Namibia History

    Type: Republic as of March 21, 1990.
    Branches: Executive--President (elected for 5-year term). Legislative--bicameral: National Assembly (78 members) and the National Council (26 members). Judicial--Supreme Court, the High Court, and lower courts.
    Subdivisions: 13 administrative regions.
    Major political parties: South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO), Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA), United Democratic Front of Namibia (UDF), Congress of Democrats (COD), Monitor Action Group (MAG).
    Suffrage: Universal adult.

    Government of Namibia
    After 80 days, the Constituent Assembly produced a constitution which established a multi-party system and a bill of rights. It also limited the executive president to two 5-year terms and provided for the private ownership of property. The three branches of government are subject to checks and balances, and a provision is made for judicial review. The constitution also states that Namibia should have a mixed economy, and foreign investment should be encouraged.

    While the ethnic-based three-tier South African-imposed governing authorities have been dissolved, the current government pledged for the sake of national reconciliation to retain civil servants employed during the colonial period. The government is still organizing itself both on a national and regional level.

    The Constituent Assembly converted itself into the National Assembly on February 16, 1990, retaining all the members elected on a straight party ticket.

    The judicial structure in Namibia parallels that of South Africa. In 1919, Roman-Dutch law was declared the common law of the territory and remains so to the present.

    Elections were held in 1992, to elect members of 13 newly established Regional Councils, as well as new municipal officials. Two members from each Regional Council serve simultaneously as members of the National Council, the country's second house of Parliament. Nineteen of its members are from the ruling SWAPO party, and seven are from the Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA). In 1994 and 1999, elections were held for the President and the National Assembly, and the next presidential and parliamentary elections are expected in late 2004. President Nujoma has said that he will not seek a fourth term.


  • Namibia People
  • Namibia Geography
  • Namibia Economy
  • Namibia History