Madagascar Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Madagascar Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Madagascar, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Madagascar at its Madagascar Country Page.

  • Madagascar People
  • Madagascar Geography
  • Madagascar Economy
  • Madagascar History

    Type: Republic.
    Independence: June 26, 1960.
    Constitution: Entered into force in March 1998.
    Branches: Executive--president, prime minister, cabinet.
    Legislative--National Assembly and Senate. Judicial--Supreme Court, High Court of Justice, Constitutional High Court.
    Subdivisions: Six autonomous provinces (faritany).
    Political parties: There are more than 130 with a dozen major ones, including the ruling party I Love Madagascar (TIM), Pillar and Podium for the Development of Madagascar (AREMA), Militants for the Development of Madagascar (MFM), Be Judged by your Work (AVI), Work, Truth and Harmonized Development (AFFA), National Union for Development and Democracy (UNDD), Social Democrat Party (PSD), Reflection and Action Group for Development in Madagascar (GRAD-Iloafo), Rally for Social Democracy (RPSD), Economic Liberalism and Democratic Action for Reconstruction Party (LEADER-Fanilo), Independence and Renewal Party of Madagascar (AKFM-Fanavoazana).
    Suffrage: Universal at 18.
    National holiday: June 26.

    Government of Madagascar
    In March1998, Malagasy voters approved a revised Constitution. The principal institutions of the Republic of Madagascar are a presidency, a parliament (National Assembly and Senate), a prime ministry and cabinet, and an independent judiciary. The president is elected by direct universal suffrage for a 5-year term, renewable twice.

    The National Assembly consists of 160 representatives elected by direct vote every 5 years. The last election was held in December 2002. The Senate consists of 90 senators, two-thirds elected by local legislators and other Grand Electors and one-third appointed by the president, all for 6-year terms. A prime minister and council of ministers carries out day-to-day management of government. The president appoints the prime minister.

    The prime minister and members of Parliament initiate legislation, and the government executes it. The president can dissolve the National Assembly. For its part, the National Assembly can pass a motion of censure and require the prime minister and council of ministers to step down. The Constitutional Court approves the constitutionality of new laws.

    Territorial administration is to be determined by legislation. In an effort to decentralize administration, the Constitution calls for the six provinces (faritany) to become autonomous. The six provinces are Antananarivo, Mahajanga, Antsiranana, Toamasina, Fianarantsoa, and Toliary.


  • Madagascar People
  • Madagascar Geography
  • Madagascar Economy
  • Madagascar History