Macedonia Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Macedonia Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Macedonia, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Macedonia at its Macedonia Country Page.

  • Macedonia People
  • Macedonia Geography
  • Macedonia Economy
  • Macedonia History

    Type: Parliamentary democracy.
    Constitution: Adopted November 17, 1991; effective November 20, 1991.
    Independence: September 8, 1991 (from Yugoslavia).
    Branches: Executive--prime minister (head of government), council of ministers (cabinet), president (head of state).
    Legislative--unicameral parliament or Sobranie, 120 representatives; (120 seats; members elected by popular vote to 4-year terms from party lists based on the percentage parties gain of the overall vote in each of the six election units). Judicial--Supreme Court: Republican Judicial Council; Constitutional Court of the Republic of Macedonia; Public Prosecutor's Office; Public Attorney. Legal system is based on civil law system; judicial review of legislative acts.
    Subdivisions: 123 Opstini (municipalities) plus the city of Skopje.
    Suffrage: Universal at age 18.
    Main political parties: Social-Democratic Union of Macedonia (SDSM); Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization-Democratic Party for Macedonian National Unity (VMRO-DPMNE); Democratic Union for Integration (DUI); Democratic Party of Albanians (DPA); Party for Democratic Prosperity (PDP); National Democratic Party (NDP); Liberal-Democratic Party (LDP); Socialist Party of Macedonia (SPM); Liberal Party (LP); Democratic Alternative (DA); Democratic Union (DU); Democratic Party of the Turks in Macedonia (DPTM); Democratic League of Bosniaks; Democratic Party of Serbs in Macedonia, United Party of Romas in Macedonia; Democratic Union of Vlachs from Macedonia; Labor-Agricultural Party of Macedonia, Socialist-Christian Party of Macedonia; Green Party of Macedonia.

    Government of Macedonia
    The unicameral assembly (Sobranie) consists of 120 seats. Members are elected by popular vote from party lists, based on the percentage parties gain of the overall vote in each of six election districts of 20 seats each. Members of parliament have 4-year mandate.

    General parliamentary elections were last held on September 15, 2002. Both local and presidential elections will be held in late 2004

    The prime minister is the head of government and is selected by the party or coalition that gains a majority of seats in Parliament. The prime minister and other ministers must not be members of Parliament.

    The president represents Macedonia at home and abroad. He is the commander in chief of the armed forces of Macedonia and heads its Security Council. The president is elected by general, direct ballot and has a term of 5 years, with the right to one re-election.

    The court system consists of a Supreme Court, Constitutional Court, and local and appeals courts. A Republican Judicial Council, composed of 7 members elected by Parliament for a period of 6 years with right to one re-election, governs the ethical conduct of judges, and recommends to Parliament the election of judges. The Supreme Court, responsible for the equal administration of laws by all courts, is the highest court in the country. Its judges are appointed by Parliament without time limit. The Constitutional Court is responsible for the protection of constitutional and legal rights and for resolving conflicts of power between the three branches of government. Its nine judges are appointed by Parliament with a mandate of 9 years, without the possibility of re-election. An independent Public Prosecutor is appointed by Parliament with a 6-year mandate.


  • Macedonia People
  • Macedonia Geography
  • Macedonia Economy
  • Macedonia History