Lesotho Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Lesotho Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Lesotho, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Lesotho at its Lesotho Country Page.

  • Lesotho People
  • Lesotho Geography
  • Lesotho Economy
  • Lesotho History

    Type: Constitutional monarchy.
    Constitution: April 2, 1993.
    Independence: October 4, 1966.
    Branches: Executive--monarch is head of state; prime minister is head of government and cabinet. Legislative--Bicameral parliament consists of elected assembly and non-elected senate. Judicial--High Court, Court of Appeals, Magistrate's Court, traditional and customary courts.
    Administrative subdivisions: 10 districts.
    Political parties: Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD), Basotho National Party (BNP), Lesotho Peoples Congress (LPC), National Independent Party (NIP), Basutoland African Congress (BAC), Basutoland Congress Party (BCP), Lesotho Workers Party (LWP), Popular Front for Democracy (PFD), Marematlou Freedom Party (MFP), Christian Democratic Party (DCP), Kopanang Basotho Party (KBP), National Progressive Party (NPP), New Lesotho’s Freedom Party (NLFP), Sefate Democratic Union (SDU), Social Democratic Party (SDP), United Party (UP). Suffrage: 18 years of age.
    Central government budget (FY 2002-2003 est.): Revenues--$273 million. Expenditures--$334 million.

    Government of Lesotho
    The Lesotho Government is a constitutional monarchy. The Prime Minister, Pakalitha Mosisili, is head of government and has executive authority. The King serves a largely ceremonial function; he no longer possesses any executive authority and is proscribed from actively participating in political initiatives.

    The Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) controls a majority in the National Assembly, with the Basotho National Party (BNP), Lesotho Peoples Congress, and the National Independent Party, among the 9 opposition parties represented.

    The constitution provides for an independent judicial system. The judiciary is made up of the Court of Appeal, the High Court, magistrate's courts, and traditional courts that exist predominately in rural areas. All but one of the Justices on the Court of Appeal are South African jurists. There is no trial by jury; rather, judges make rulings alone, or, in the case of criminal trials, with two other judges as observers. The constitution also protects basic civil liberties, including freedom of speech, association, and the press; freedom of peaceful assembly; and freedom of religion.

    For administrative purposes, Lesotho is divided into 10 districts, each headed by a district secretary.

    source: http://www.state.gov

  • Lesotho People
  • Lesotho Geography
  • Lesotho Economy
  • Lesotho History