Guatemala Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Guatemala Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Guatemala, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Guatemala at its Guatemala Country Page.

  • Guatemala People
  • Guatemala Geography
  • Guatemala Economy
  • Guatemala History

    Type: Constitutional Democratic Republic.
    Constitution: May 1985; amended January 1994.
    Independence: September 15, 1821.
    Branches: Executive--president (4-year term). Legislative--unicameral 158 member Congress (4-year term). Judicial--13-member Supreme Court of Justice (5-year term).
    Subdivisions: 22 departments (appointed governors); 331 municipalities with elected mayors and city councils.
    Major political parties: Guatemalan Republican Front (FRG), Gran Alianza Nacional (GANA--a coalition of three parties), National Advancement Party (PAN), National Union for Hope (UNE), New Nation Alliance (ANN), Unionists (Unionistas).
    Suffrage: Universal for adults 18 and over who are not serving on active duty with the armed forces or police. A variety of procedural obstacles have historically reduced participation by poor, rural, and indigenous people.

    Government of Guatemala
    Guatemala's 1985 constitution provides for a separation of powers among the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government. The 1993 constitutional reforms included an increase in the number of Supreme Court justices from 9 to 13. The terms of office for president, vice president, and congressional representatives were reduced from 5 years to 4 years; for Supreme Court justices from 6 years to 5 years, and increased the terms of mayors and city councils from 21/2 to 4 years.

    The president and vice president are directly elected through universal suffrage and limited to one term. A vice president can run for president after 4 years out of office. Supreme Court justices are elected by the Congress from a list submitted by the bar association, law school deans, a university rector, and appellate judges. The Supreme Court and local courts handle civil and criminal cases. There also is a separate Constitutional Court.

    Guatemala has 22 administrative subdivisions (departments) administered by governors appointed by the president. Guatemala City and 331 other municipalities are governed by popularly elected mayors or councils.


  • Guatemala People
  • Guatemala Geography
  • Guatemala Economy
  • Guatemala History