Argentina Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Argentina Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Argentina, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Argentina at its Argentina Country Page.

  • Argentina People
  • Argentina Geography
  • Argentina Economy
  • Argentina History

    Government Statistics
    Branches: Executive--president, vice president, cabinet.
    Legislative--bicameral congress (72-member Senate, 257-member Chamber of Deputies). Judicial--Supreme Court, federal and provincial trial courts.
    Administrative subdivisions: 23 provinces and one autonomous federal capital district.
    Political parties: Justicialist (Peronist), Radical Civic Union (UCR), numerous smaller national and provincial parties
    Suffrage: Universal adult.

    Democracy returned to Argentina in 1983, with Raul Alfonsin of the country's oldest political party, the Radical Civic Union (UCR), winning the presidency. Three general elections followed in the next 16 years--a remarkable feat in Argentine political history--with the Justicialist Party (PJ) candidate Carlos Menem winning two and the UCR's Fernando De la Rua one.

    In late 2001, however, Argentina experienced more of the tumultuous political change characteristic of much of its past. President De la Rua was forced to resign in December 2001 because of large-scale public discontent over the government's economic policies, and some demonstrations deteriorated into lawlessness and violence. A legislative assembly elected Adolfo Rodriguez Saa to serve out the remainder of De la Rua's term, but he too failed to garner political support in the face of continued unrest and resigned that same month. Yet another legislative assembly then chose Eduardo Duhalde to succeed Rodriguez Saa. Duhalde took office on January 1, 2002, in the midst of a profound economic crisis and a widespread public rejection of the "political class" in Argentina, a rejection directed at all three branches of government. Another factor contributing to the perception of institutional instability in Argentina was conflict between the three branches of government in early 2002, culminating in the legislature's attempt to impeach the members of the Supreme Court. Despite widespread concern, democracy and democratic institutions survived the crisis, and President Kirchner has taken firm hold as President.

    Argentina's constitution of 1853, as revised in 1994, mandates a separation of powers into executive, legislative, and judicial branches at the national and provincial level. Each province also has its own constitution, roughly mirroring the structure of the national constitution. The president and vice president are directly elected to 4-year terms. Both are limited to two consecutive terms; they are allowed to stand for a third term or more after an interval of at least one term. The president appoints cabinet ministers, and the constitution grants him considerable power, including authority to enact laws by presidential decree under conditions of "urgency and necessity" and the line-item veto.

    Since 2001, senators have been directly elected, with each province, including the Federal Capital, represented by three senators. Senators serve 6-year terms. One-third of the Senate stands for reelection every 2 years. Members of the Chamber of Deputies are directly elected to 4-year terms. Voters elect half the members of the lower house every 2 years. Both houses are elected via a system of proportional representation.

    The constitution establishes the judiciary as an independent government entity. The president appoints members of the Supreme Court with the consent of the Senate. The president on the recommendation of a magistrates' council appoints other federal judges. The Supreme Court has the power to declare legislative acts unconstitutional.


  • Argentina People
  • Argentina Geography
  • Argentina Economy
  • Argentina History