Angola Government, Constitution, Flag, and Leaders


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Angola Government

Browse the listing below to find government information for Angola, including flags, leaders, and constitution information. Factrover also has complete information on Angola at its Angola Country Page.

  • Angola People
  • Angola Geography
  • Angola Economy
  • Angola History

    Government Statistics
    Type: Republic.
    Independence: November 11, 1975. Government based on ordinances, decrees, and decisions issued by a president and his ministers or through legislation produced by the National Assembly and approved by the president.
    Branches: Executive--Elected president (chief of state), appointed prime minister, and 29 appointed civilian ministers.
    Legislative--Elected National Assembly (233 seats).
    Judicial--Supreme Court (a Constitutional Court, provided for in the 1992 constitution, has never been established).
    Administrative subdivisions: Province, municipality, commune.
    Political parties: 123 with legal status; in 1992, 12 won seats in the National Assembly. Pro-government--Peoples' Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA). Opposition--National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA), Social Renewal Party (PRS), National Front for the Liberation of Angola (FNLA), Party for Democratic Progress - Angola National Alliance (PDP-ANA), Democratic Renewal Party (PRD), Party of the Alliance of Youth, Workers, and Peasants (PAJOCA), Liberal Democratic Party (PLD), Democratic Alliance (AD), Angolan Democratic Forum (FDA), and the Angolan National Democratic Party (PNDA).
    Suffrage: Universal age 18 and over.

    Angola is governed by a president assisted by a prime minister and 29 cabinet ministers, all appointed by him. The central government administers the country through 18 provinces, whose governors are appointed by the president. The National Assembly has 230 members elected in 1992 (three seats for Angolans living abroad have never been filled). They represent parties whose weight is determined by a formula that takes into account national tickets and provincial voting. The ruling MPLA controls 57% of the seats.


  • Angola People
  • Angola Geography
  • Angola Economy
  • Angola History