Senegal Geography, Climate, Areas, Cities


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Senegal Geography

The information below contains geography information for Senegal, including climate, weather, cities, and area information. You can also check out the Senegal Country Page for additional resources.

  • Senegal People
  • Senegal Government
  • Senegal Economy
  • Senegal History

    Area: 196,840 sq. km. (76,000 sq. mi.), about the size of South Dakota.
    Cities: Capital--Dakar. Other cities--Diourbel, Kolda, Kaolack, Louga, Saint-Louis, Thies, Tambacounda, Ziguinchor.
    Terrain: Flat or rising to foothills.
    Climate: Tropical/Sahelian--desert or grasslands in the north, heavier vegetation in the south and southeast.

    Geography of Senegal
    Senegal is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean, Mauritania, Mali, Guinea, and Guinea-Bissau. The Gambia penetrates more than 320 kilometers (200 mi.) into Senegal. Well-defined dry and humid seasons result from northeast winter winds and southwest summer winds. Dakar's annual rainfall of about 61 centimeters (24 in.) occurs between June and October when maximum temperatures average 27oC (82oF); December to February minimum temperatures are about 17oC (63oF). Interior temperatures are higher than along the coast, and rainfall increases substantially farther south, exceeding 150 centimeters (60 in.) annually in some areas.