Micronesia Geography, Climate, Areas, Cities


All Countries

World Newspapers

US Newspapers

Micronesia Geography

The information below contains geography information for Micronesia, including climate, weather, cities, and area information. You can also check out the Micronesia Country Page for additional resources.

  • Micronesia People
  • Micronesia Government
  • Micronesia Economy
  • Micronesia History

    Area: 702 sq. km (about 270 sq. mi.) in four major island groups (Pohnpei, Chuuk, Yap and Kosrae) totaling 607 islands.
    Cities: Capital--Palikir. Other cities--Kolonia, Moen, Lelu.
    Terrain: Varies from mountainous to low coral atolls.
    Climate: Tropical.

    Geography of Micronesia
    The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) consists of 607 islands extending 1,800 miles across the archipelago of the Caroline Islands east of the Philippines. The four constituent island groups are Yap, Chuuk (called Truk until January 1990), Pohnpei (called Ponape until November 1984), and Kosrae. The federal capital is Palikir, on Pohnpei.

    The indigenous population, which is predominantly Micronesian, consists of various ethnolinguistic groups. English has become the common language. Population growth remains high at more than 3%, ameliorated somewhat by net emigration.
    source: http://www.state.gov